Submit Names For Citizen Of Year
Written By: Wednesday, January 10th 2018

Get Orillia nominations in for the 2017 Citizen of the Year Award

 A panel of local residents, with the assistance of the City of Orillia, is accepting nominations for the 2017 Citizen of the Year. The deadline for nominations is noon on Monday, Jan. 22. Nominations can be emailed to or delivered to the Office of Mayor Steve Clarke: 50 Andrew St. S., Suite 300, Orillia, ON, L3V 7T5. Submissions must include the full name of and contact information for the nominator and a detailed explanation of why the nominee deserves to be named Citizen of the Year.

Nominees must be residents of Orillia, Chippewas of Rama First Nation, or the townships of Oro-Medonte, Ramara or Severn, who have contributed to the betterment of Orillia. Emphasis should be placed on the nominees’ volunteerism and accomplishments during 2017.

The 2017 Citizen of the Year panel includes former winners Anderson Charters, Ralph Cipolla (non-voting member), Steve Clarke (non-voting member), Doug Lewis, Gini Stringer and Bruce Waite, as well as former Packet & Times editors and reporters Dave Dawson and Nathan Taylor, and Dr. Linda Rodenburg of Lakehead University’s Office of Community Programs.

The Orillia Packet & Times, which recognized local community champions with its annual Citizen of the Year honour, was closed in the midst of its search for the top citizen of 2017. The continuation of the award was also made possible thanks to the support of Orillia City Council.

The City of Orillia is a city of 31,000 people in the heart of Ontario’s Lake Country on the shores of Lake Couchiching and Lake Simcoe. Visit our website at